Written By: Burpie – Power 98 WPRG
Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

Sony wants its members and gamers to enjoy themselves while “quarantined” so they are giving away two of its most recognized games ever for absolutely free.

One of the games up for grabs includes Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection that rounds up the first three games in the series and remasters them for the PS4, as well as the PS4 port of Journey.

According to a post on the PlayStation Blog, the two free games are part of the company’s new Play at Home Initiative that intends to help prevent the spread of COVID-19 and includes a generous $10 million fund for indie developers to help support them in this difficult time.

PlayStation on Twitter

PlayAtHome with Journey and Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection – free starting today through May 5 at PlayStation Store: https://t.co/pOn3hJp0gg

Available For Download

The games are available from April 15 at 8 pm PST / 11 pm EST (or April 16 at 4 am BST) and will be available through May 5, 2020, at 8 pm PDT / 11 pm EST (or May 6 at 4 am). Once you redeem the games, Sony says, they are yours to keep and the post makes no mention of needing a PlayStation Plus membership to snag the games.

Unfortunately, Sony says these games might take longer to download than usual – as the company is complying with the governments’ request to preserve internet bandwidth – but thankfully you have three weeks to jump on this deal.

It’s also worth noting that, in Germany and China, PS4 users will instead have access to Knack 2 and Journey for free during this time period. In case you’re wondering how to claim your free game here’s how you can do that, Go to “PlayStation Store” from your PlayStation home screen and select the offer screen from the menu on the left-hand side of the screen – from there, simply follow the instructions given.

If the offer isn’t showing then go to the search bar in PlayStation Store and search for the games individually. Click through to the listing for Journey or Uncharted: The Nathan Drake Collection (remember it needs to be this edition) and underprice the game should show as “free”. You can then add it to your library and then repeat the same steps for the other game. Voila! Two (technically four) new games to play.


Looking for something to do while under quarantine? Check out the Shutdown Showdown! It’s a charity APEX Legends tournament benefiting No Kid Hungry. The tournaments are running on Tuesdays throughout April with proceeds going to charity. It’s just $10 to enter and you can enter solo or with your friends. Check it out here!